Zomburbia

Goodreads blurb:

“Scary, freaky, and original. Get this book!” -Nancy Holder Lifeless. Slow-moving. Brain-dead.
“Welcome To Zomburbia.”

My name is Courtney Hart, and I’m here to tell you about things that suck. Being born in a podunk town like Salem, Oregon, for one. Living in a world infested with zombies? That, too. And the meat heads I go to school with? I think I’d actually take the undead over them most days. But I have a plan to get out of here and move to New York. I just have to keep selling Vitamin Z along with your fries at The Bully Burger. The secret ingredient? Zombie brains.

I’ve noticed things are getting even worse lately, if that’s even possible. The zombies seem to be getting smarter and faster. If I can avoid being arrested, eaten by shufflers, or catching the eye of some stupid boy, I should be able to make it through finals week still breathing. . .

“Gallardo’s world-building is innovative and fascinating, sick and twisted and unexpectedly touching. You’ll want to check that your zombie apocalypse closet is well stocked.” -Molly Harper White

“Readers are guaranteed plenty of mayhem and romance, laughter and heartbreak.” -James Patrick Kelly

ZomburbiaZomburbia by Adam Gallardo
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Action-packed zombie story with a savvy, bad-ass heroine?

Nope.

More like annoying YA contemporary with some zombies featured here and there to make the main character seem tougher than she really was.

Gah. Excuse me for sounding so bitter. Everything about this book just got on my nerves. Instead of focusing on the fact that the zombies were quite possibly mutating, becoming faster and stronger and learning how to communicate with other zombies, the main character was worrying about whether or not she’d be able to get into the college of her dreams, and if the most popular guy in school liked her for real.

Meh. I requested this off Netgalley to read about zombies taking over the planet and devouring human brains, not about some typical high school issues. Why did the author even bother with the zombie thing? The book was dramatic enough without ‘em.

I’d just read four crappy books IN A ROW and I thought this one would break the unlucky streak. Fate is such a bitch.

(An ARC was given to me for free by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

